Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home4/betschar/public_html/wp-content/themes/canvas/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Gobble This Up: Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s New Album

margotband Gobble This Up: Margot & the Nuclear So and Sos New Album

Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s have a penchant for dark, sometimes humorous lyrics and The Royal Tenenbaums. Lead singer, Richard Edwards, was in a band called Archer Avenue when he was in college, and now he fronts Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s… so it’s safe to assume he has a high regard for Wes Anderson; or at the very least, a well-made film.

Buzzard is the third full-length from the Indianapolis-based band. It’s a pop album to its core, that highlights Edwards’ range of melody. Buzzard starts with “Birds,” appropriate considering the title, and introduces listeners to Edwards’ ability to reach a falsetto without sounding like something out of a mid-1990’s boy band. It’s heavy, drenched in guitar riffs and sopping with fun, but still murky in tone: “You dance like a jerk whenever you dance/Your mother can’t stand you/Nobody can/And I’m afraid that/What I’m am proposing, to total explosion.”

The thing to love most about Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s is their attention to creative lyrics – they manage to write songs that are quirky and endearing, but in a way that sweetly dances around the obvious. In “Claws Off,” Edwards honestly, coos: “I’m not gonna say/I’m not gonna say/I’m not gonna say/Good luck/What I wanna say/What I wanna say/What I wanna say/Is get fucked.” Immediately after life has been breathed into the word “fucked,” the sentiment changes and goes into “Will You Love Me Forever?” a sincere pop-ballad, and shows the spectrum of Buzzard.

Despite the emotional jostling this album gives us, it ends on a beautiful note with “I Do.” It’s a song full of heart, and a simple acoustic ode. Lyrically, it’s captivating – reminds me of Maurice Sendak’s famous “I’ll eat you up, I love you so,” line: “If you kick me to the curb/It’s probably just what I deserve/I’m gonna run to you and grab you up/If you leave me (in the lurch)/Without a penny to my name/I’m gonna run to you and gobble you up.” So I suggest you let Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s gobble you up… sometimes being devoured is the best way to start the day.

By: Amanda Chatel

Tour dates:

29 Sep: Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, NY

30 Sep: First Unitarian Church, Philly, PA

01 Oct: Black Cat, Washington, DC

02 Oct: Stella Blue, Asheville, NC

03 Oct: Local 506, Chapel Hill, NC

05 Oct: Club Downunder, Tallahassee, FL

06 Oct: Common Ground, Gainesville, FL

07 Oct: Backbooth, Orlando, FL

08 Oct: Crowbar, Tampa, FL

09 Oct: Drunken Unicorn, Atlanta, GA

10 Oct: Bottletree, Birmingham, AL

11 Oct: Exit/In, Nashville, TN

13 Oct: The Firebird, St. Louis, MO

14 Oct: The Bishop, Bloomington, IN

15 Oct: The Vogue, Indianapolis, IN

05 Nov: Opolis Productions, Norman, OK

06 Nov: Kessler Theatre, Dallas, TX

09 Nov: Launchpad, Alburquerque, NM

10 Nov: Rhythm Room, Phoenix, AZ

11 Nov: Club Congress, Tucson, AZ

12 Nov: The Casbah, San Diego, CA

13 Nov: Detroit Bar, Costa Mesa, CA

14 Nov: EchoPlex, Los Angeles, CA

15 Nov: Soho, Santa Barbara, CA

18 Nov: Doug Fir, Portland, OR

19 Nov: The Crocodile, Seattle, WA

20 Nov: Neurolux, Boise, ID

21 Nov: Urban Lounge, Salt Lake City, UT

22 Nov: Bluebird, Denver, CO

23 Nov: The Waiting Room, Omaha, NE

My absolute favorite Margot & the Nuclear So and So’s song, “Talking in Code,” from 2006′s The Dust of Retreat:

YouTube Preview Image
Related Posts with Thumbnails

, , , ,